Creating a new end-point in Camunda

Preface: I am not a Java developer, my first time touching anything Java related was yesterday.

We have a need for a new endpoint in Camunda for dealing with external tasks. I opened a Feature Request in Jira about our desired functionality here: https://app.camunda.com/jira/browse/CAM-6415

After receiving a comment asking if we would be willing to contribute this functionality, I installed all the required Java dev tools and pulled and compiled the Camunda repository from GitHub.

Poking around in the code, I eventually added some files/lines within the External Tasks portions of the engine and engine-rest and got a compiling version of Camunda with my changes. I have also verified that my endpoint is listening and responding to requests.

However, I cannot figure out how to get the request to update the database. I don’t know how to log, debug, or trace anything I am doing in Java. I am primarily a NodeJS developer with previous experience in PHP.

I’ve made changes to/added the following files: https://github.com/camunda/camunda-bpm-platform/compare/master...goyney:CAM-6415?expand=1

Can anyone point me in the correct direction? I would really like to solve this issue and contribute something useful to the Camunda project.

Thank you!

3 Likes

Hi @goyney,

First of all, its great that you are willing to make this effort :slight_smile:

Looking at your code, I see that you have found the right places that need extension (REST API resources and ExternalTaskService).

I have feedback on four aspects:

• I think we do not need an additional field in ExternalTaskEntity but should rather the field lockExpirationTime. The fetch and lock API considers this field when it picks external tasks. If we go in that direction, you do not need to make any changes in order to update the value in the database. That is done implicitly. It is just when you add a new field, you have to extend the database schema and object relational mapping.