Changelog for Zeebe client lib maintainers

Hi, my name is Josh Wulf, and I’m a Developer Advocate at Camunda by day, and maintainer of the Zeebe Node Client by night.

This post documents changes to the Node client library that arise from changes to the Zeebe broker.

If you maintain a client lib, you can check in here for changes to the Zeebe broker that impact client libs (and add comments about things that you find - yay community!).

Camunda Cloud 8

The details of the new protocol can be found in the default branch under gateway.proto (RPCs, request and response messages).

2.4.1 - Camunda Cloud 1.4

• The PartitionBrokerHealth enum now includes DEAD. See here.

2.4.1 - Camunda Cloud 1.3

• The FailJobRequest now has an optional retryBackOff field that specifies a millisecond duration that the broker should wait before making a failed job available for reactivation. See here.

1.4.0 (July 2021) - Camunda Cloud 1.1

The DNS schema for Camunda Cloud hosted has been extended to support regions. Clusters are now addressed as ${clusterId}.${clusterRegion}.zeebe.camunda.io. If your client has a builder or convenience method that takes only a clusterId and then constructs the URL, you will need to extend it to support a clusterRegion.

To maintain backward-compatibility in the type system, I am making it an optional property - with the default when it is absent set to bru-2, the only available region at the moment. For more details, see this issue.

1.0.0-alpha7 (April 2021)

Version 1.0.0-alpha7 of the Zeebe broker is out with a breaking change to the DeployProcess GRPC API. See this diff. YAML process models are out, and the GRPC protocol is changed to remove them.

1.0.0-alpha3 (March 2021)

The 1.0.0-alpha3 image is out on Docker Hub with the 1.0.0 breaking changes API.

I’ve released a 1.0.0-alpha.3 of Zeebe Node that works with it.

Coming Up (for 1.0.0?)

This branch contains a PR that renames workflowprocess everywhere in the API.