Custom application request/response with bpm

Sorry, I am new to the BPM world and Camunda. I have been poking through the examples and am wondering the best way to do something. In all the examples it seems like a process is just started and no real response goes to the invoking user besides stating that the process has been started.

So say for example we look at the bank account opening example

https://github.com/camunda/camunda-consulting/blob/master/showcases/bank-account-opening-error-handling/src/main/resources/open-account-errorhandling.png

Now, say the flow changes that instead of the user submitting an order and human checking documents, some of this can be automated. If certain things are met based on the user, then the account will automatically be created, otherwise it may go to a human to evaluate.

If the account is auto created, then the response to the user would include his account number. If the account is not auto created, the response would state that the account creation is in process and he would be notified when it is available.

How are the multiple responses handled from the custom application?

In this case, I would expect the application to submit to the BPM the order as it does now. Does the BPM model need an additional flow to send response to the user and the custom app would have to listen for a response on a different REST endpoint?

This is something I think a lot of use have to deal with and I am no expert. My own company has the need for such functionality. So, I’ll “hold forth” a little bit on what I know, which may not be much.