Workflow Engines and ERP: current state of the discussion

As said I am quite new to BPM, therefore I would like to know the current state of the question if a workflow engine should be placed on top of an ERP, or better inside.
If it would be placed inside, then there would potentially be two workflow systems, one inside the ERP and one general WF-system like the Camunda Process Engine that handles processes that the ERP can not handle alone.

I found a very interesting article about that, though it is a bit old:
ERP AND WORKFLOW SYSTEMS

Also, this article is cited a lot:
Workflow Management Systems and ERP Systems: Differences, Commonalities, and Applications
https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/9319/3c4251c9884d41756c536ff08b4a9f83ef65.pdf?_ga=1.102994496.1377418632.1477493996

My very own opinion is that the separation between ERP and Workflow Engines is an artificial one, and only due to the fact that ERP systems just came up earlier at a time where nobody thought about process centric systems.

Integrating both as separate systems will for sure result in many big projects.
But would it not be a better view to not see both systems as separate, but right away create a holistic approach, that is both data-centric and process-centric?
Currently Microservices are discussed much, but I doubt they can create a stable complete system, as they even add complexity.

Any comments are most welcome. :slight_smile:

After reading the second article above in more detail and thinking about it, my strong impression is that the authors compare apples with peaches:
ERP systems consist of ready-to-use business applications, while WfMS (workflow management systems) are tools to build business applications.
So they compare a house with a crane.
It is absolutely not possible to replace the business software of any company, which consists nowadays of some kind of ERP system, with a WfMS. So it just makes no sense to confront both, implying they could be alternatives.