Calling subprocess with Call activity

Hi everybody, first post from a complete Camunda newbie here (be gentle!).

I have a question regarding Call activities. What I’m trying to do:

1. Set up a high-level process flows of so called Value streams (i.e., value adding processes)
  2. Be able to link these individual processes to their detailed flows with a Call activity

So, something like this:
Start → Application → Risk assessment → Decision → Post-processing → End

I’d like to be able to click the blue “expansion arrow” (or something similar) that you get for a normal subprocess on each of these four main processes in order to get to the detailed process.

Here’s some additional info

• As I understand it, I cannot use the built-in subprocesses because I need various lanes in my detailed flow and the BPMN definition assumes a subprocess takes place within one specific lane
  • Call activities are only available in the enterprise edition of Cawemo (which I don’t have)
  • I have version 5.10.0 of Camunda Modeler
  • I don’t have access to a server
  • I’m not a developer, but I can understand written code fairly well, even though I wouldn’t have been able to write it myself (in most cases)

What I’m struggling with is how to populate the various fields in the details of the Call activity (Called element etc.).

Is there anybody that would be able to give me a few pointers?

Hi @NickGabben,

A call activity links to a different process. You can model the called process in the same file that contains your caller, or in a different one. If you want to use the same file, either add another Pool or use the following community plugin:

However, the possibility to link a call activity directly to another model (by browsing the available models) is only available in Cawemo EE (or Camunda 8). So, you need to configure the link manually:

• Type: Select BPMN
  • Called element: add the ID of the other process (The ID is defined in the model)