Camunda 7 service task integration with external REST api

Hello All, I am fairly new to camunda paradigm and still learning. I am trying to deploy a BPMN in the camunda running locally but I have stumbled across an error which I am not able to get through. Error - "ENGINE-09005 Could not parse BPMN process. Errors:

• Either loopCardinality or loopDataInputRef/activiti:collection must been set | resource Planning_Process.bpmn | line 26 | column 48 [ deploy-error ]".
    Would appreciate if any one can give me any leads on this.

Hello @aviorn36 ,

welcome to the forum.

You are using a parallel multi instance on a service task, meaning the service task should be executed multiple times (potentially in parallel).

For the engine to know what context is used to create the multi instance, you should enter the information in the properties panel:

If you have a list of elements to loop, enter the process variable name to Collection. If you then use Element variable, the element that is currently handled will be available with the given variable name.

If you want to loop for an amount of times, you can use the Loop cardinality and enter 3 for example. If you want this to stop at some point, you can set a completion condition which in an expression that needs to be evaluated to a boolean value, in the easiest case a process variable (for example ${iAmDoneNow}).

I hope this helps

Jonathan

1 Like

Hello @jonathan.lukas , thank you for your prompt suggestion. I am not aware if I have used parallel multi-instance on service task. My use-case was simply calling a rest api which returns json with one attribute, parsing that json in service task with groovy script and populating a variable to be used in further task in the process. Could you please shed some light on this ā€œmulti-instance service taskā€ and the type of service task I can opt for my simple use-case?
Thank-you one again :slight_smile:

Hello @aviorn36 ,