Camunda Self-Managed for Absolute Beginners

4 Likes

Thanks for providing the tutorial for installing Camunda 8. No problem for installation. At present, I use such as the following command to access the Camunda 8 Web App.

kubectl port-forward svc/camunda-platform-operate 8081:80
http://localhost:8081

However, I’d like to access the Web App through nginx Ingress Controller. I’ve already install it in my K8s. Could you explain the more details on how to update camunda-values.yaml to do the following?

As part of the Helm charts, an ingress definition can be deployed, but you require to have an Ingress Controller for that Ingress to be Exposed.
In order to deploy the ingress manifest, set <service>.ingress.enabled to true. Example: operate.ingress.enabled=true

Hi @T-san - great question! First you need to decide whether you want to use a combined or separated ingress setup. A combined setup would allow you to access everything on a single domain using paths (e.g. http://localhost/operate, http://localhost/identity, etc.), or separated on their own domain/host (e.g., http://operate.domain.com, http://identity.domain.com, etc.)

We have a guide for setting up both options, I would recommend starting here: Combined and separated Ingress setup | Camunda 8 Docs

If you want to see a more complex configuration, you can look through this repository. The configuration linked is for a local kind install, very similar to the blog post. The key differences in the Helm configuration is that it uses TLS/SSL, and it uses a more enterprise configuration (more resources, includes Web Modeler if you have a license, etc.) … but, it does use the combined ingress setup, so is a nice reference.

Let me know if you have any questions or run into any issues!

Hi, thanks. I would use the combined setup. When looking at the yaml file, it does not contains the information, for example,

zeebe:
  clusterSize: 1
  partitionCount: 1
  replicationFactor: 1
  pvcSize: 10Gi
  resources: {}