Event based loops

Hello,

I am new to BPMN and I try to model an existing process of my company, which has an unusual behavior :
I have an activity at the begining, executed once, then, a subprocess that needs to be executed several times, but the amount of time is not predetermined in advance, and can happen at any time, triggered by an external application, or on demand by a human.

I think I could use loops on intermediate events to do so, but I’m not sure that my diagram is correct.
Here is my diagram :

I want the “Ignite project” activity to execute once, the “ignite sub-process” and “subprocess” activities to execute as many times as needed, and finally the “close project” activity to execute once all “sub-process” instances are finished and the “End Affaire” event is triggered (which is not the case in my diagram, it only waits for at least one instance to finish).

If the first part of the diagram is correct, how to detect that all “sub-process” instances are finished ?

Thanks in advance,
Nicolas.

Hi Nicolas,

This diagram would not achieve what you’re looking for - i think you might need to spend some time learning a about the basics of the modeling notation before you start trying to model something this complex.

Is the intention of this model for documentation or for eventual automation/execution?

I am learning basics since more than two weeks, but examples a always simpler than real processes.
The intention of this model is to learn BPMN on a real case. And redo it in the future when I will be more experienced (for documentation and communication purposes).
The only problem is that it is very complicated to check if a diagram is correct or not.

Sure sounds good - in that case if it’s helpful i can maybe discuss with you some of the potential errors with how your model?

By the way - what tool are you using to model bpmn?

Here are some quick comments:
The process will never end for the following reasons: