How to get started with Camunda 7.6.0

Dear friends of Camunda,
I need some very basic help, and I am not a software engineer, neiter am I familiar with programming. This is my first post here, so I hope for your patience with me.
As for now, I “simply” want to try how this whole thing works so I can talk somewhat educatedly to clients. Clients, who are interested in using BPMN diagrams to eventually engage with a programming company which can build what they need.
I was trying to follow the instructions under https://network.camunda.org/training/camunda/2 to set up the environment, but got stuck when it comes to installing Eclipse with the Camunda Modeler. Since 7.4.0, this is not supported anymore, but there is no description how to proceed with the newer versions.
I can install the standalone modeler, but then I do not have Eclipse…?
Is there a “Getting started with 7.6.0 for dummies” somewhere around?

thanks!
tobias

Hi Tobias,

The most basic (and up-to-date) getting started guide would be this one: https://docs.camunda.org/get-started/bpmn20/. Feel free to ask if you have any problems with it.

Cheers,
Thorben

1 Like

Hello Thorben,
thanks so much for the quick & helpful response, and sorry for my late reaction!
FYI, I did get some progress with this guide, but I’m still not there. For now, this little project is paused, I’ll let you know when I get time to continue with it and have more questions.

best regards,
tobias

1 Like

Hi. This is my first foray into BPM with Camunda and I’m also - like tobias - having a little problem getting started.

I had planned to start a new thread, but spotted this one. Don’t mean to hijack and apologies if this is not the done thing. Happy to split my query out from this one if that’s preferable.