How to test JavaDelegates without Dependency Injection?

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Camunda, so correct me if I’m missing out on something.

But I’m trying to test my process and especially my service tasks.
I know there are various frameworks and tutorials out there, like this and camunda assert, platform scenario, mockito, coverage, …

When it comes to JavaDelegates I understand the concept written (here), by using a mock instead of the real service.
Unfortunately I don’t use Beans in my project, so a lot of the proposed examples are not applicable to my case.

I want to do two things:

1. Run my process as shown in camunda platform scenario without calling my JavaDelegates and only specify the answers.
  2. Run my process and with them the JavaDelegates and only mock service calls.

(I know there is a thing called when(myApplicationMock.waitsAtServiceTask(“ExampleServiceTask”)).thenReturn((task) → task.complete());, but this is only for External Tasks and I don’t have them (yet, I’m working on it))

I hope you can help me.

Regards

Hello @nikitaax3 ,

usually, you register a MockExpressionManager in the camunda.cfg.xml. Then, you can use Mocks.register(beanName, bean) to register the Delegate Beans without having an application context.

The snippet you refer to is from Scenario-Tests. The difference between a „classic“ unit test and a scenario test is that in the unit test, you move through the process instance step by step while in a scenario test, you define the handling of interaction points and let a scenario run that can then be asserted on.

The external task pattern is very nice for scenario testing! Very good catch :wink:

I hope this helps

Jonathan

Hello @jonathan.lukas,

thank you for your reply. This helps a little bit.

I’m currently trying out the normal mock of the service task, but it doesn’t work. Just to don’t miss anything, here is what I’ve done:
I work with JUnit5 and Camunda Version 7.17 and used therefore:

• junit-jupiter-api