Impacts of version 8

Hi,
I’m new to Camunda. I’ve tested the embedded version of Camunda 7 with PostgreSQL and it fits our needs because we can integrate the workflow engine with our transactional context that do not just manipulate the workflow.
If I understand well, with the new version 8 we will not be able to use Camunda the same way. Because there is no embedded version (am i correct ?) and more, the persistence is no longer available for database such as PostgreSQL.
If I’m correct, how, you as version 7 user see this evolution ?

Thanks for any feedback

You correctly described how it is and will be. You won’t be able to use ACID transactions in Camunda 8 to provide data integrity. This is possible in Camunda 7, but is also not a good idea. Bernd Rücker had a blog post about it. The main idea is that there is no integrity in the sense of ACID but eventual intergrity which is achieved by the dedicated error handling and compensating actions in the process.

1 Like

First thanks for your reply.
I’ve read this blog and unfortunately we’re not agree with this conclusion and the ACID property is important for us. The compensation is not always possible.
Also, the big problem is the infrastructure requirements when you use ElasticSearch it’s not so easy to install on our information system

thanks again

Hi Erik - let’s try to separate things (requirement around elastic) and look at ACID fist. Could you describe your scenario briefly and why you cannot compensate?

Do you rely on XA transaction for ACID or is all logic you do completely in the same PostgreSQL instance?

For anybody finding this thread, this is the referenced blog post: Achieving consistency without transaction managers | by Bernd Rücker | berndruecker

Ok thanks for the following