Java Spring Boot Camunda + Microservice Architecture

Hello all,

I’m currently have a Spring Boot micro-service application and I would like to start integrating Camunda’s process engine into one of the services (this service is currently hosting a subset of my application’s APIs). I would also like to utilize Camunda’s web apps to view and monitor my deployed processes.

I’m currently not quite sure what is the best approach in implementing Camunda’s process engine. I understand I can run the Camunda embedded process engine, but I wanted to think about future implementations where I might need Camunda’s process engine in my other services as well.

If I do intend to use Camunda’s process engine in multiple services, should I use a shared process engine? I also would like to use the Java APIs to interact between my services and the process engine if that case is possible.

Let me know what your experiences with Camunda and Spring Boot integration are as I’m just starting out using Camunda.

2 Likes

No. You just pull in the camunda library as a dependency into your project – and you’re done. Then your custom code can interact with camunda using its Java API. Camunda is just another library.

I’d install the cockpit (the GUI) as a separate application. Just configure it so that it works with the same peocess DB as your “service” applications do.

Thanks for your answer! Just to clarify further for my use case, I would add the Camunda dependency to any of my services that would like to utilize the process engine. Once I’ve added the dependency, I would then add the bpmn files to the /resources folder in that service and these workflows will be uploaded to my process DB as process definitions. I would use one process DB between all of my application’s services.

I would then deploy Cockpit as a separate application and point it to my one process DB so that I can view and monitor running process instances across all of my services. Is my understanding on this correct?