Kafka Event Orchestration

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Camunda and I’m trying to implement something I think should be straight forward, but I’m struggling.

I want to use CamundaBPM as a simple event orchestrator - it should receive 2 events from Kafka, do something (like aggregate the payload of both messages), and then publish a new event to Kafka.

In my mind it would look something like the following:

In my Spring application I have 2 KafkaListeners, which trigger the start of a process when a message is received, with a parallel gateway at the other end:

@KafkaListener(
            topics = "#{@kafkaApplicationProperties.getConsumerTopicById('camunda-event-01').getTopic()}",
            groupId = "#{@kafkaApplicationProperties.getConsumerTopicById('camunda-event-01').getGroupId()}"
    )
    public void processMessage(ConsumerRecord<String, String> consumerRecord) {
        super.processMessage(consumerRecord, String.class);
        runtimeService.startProcessInstanceByMessage("Message_Topic_1_Received");
    }

Based on my understanding, this won’t work because I am effectively starting 2 separate process instances and the gateway will never complete.

How should I trigger the messages under the same process instance so that the gateway will proceed to publish the event to Kafka?

Also how should I correctly correlate the Kafka messages together based on a trace/correlation ID?

If my sequence is entirely wrong, what would be the best way to implement this, and are there any samples out there that align with my use case?

Appreciate the guidance.
David

if you use the correlation id as a business key when sending the message to camunda the following model would work.

It would start a new process in cases where an instance doesnt exist and continue an existing one in cases were the process exists with the same business key

1 Like

Thank you @Niall.