REST API & multi tenancy shared definitions

Full disclosure, I have no JAVA ecosystem knowledge at all.

So far I’ve been successfully implementing Camunda processes using the Docker image, Javascript, nodejs and the REST API, no problem at all.

However it looks like I need to use multi tenancy where the tenants can start shared processes and then things start to unravel for me! Looking at the github example at: https://github.com/camunda/camunda-bpm-examples/tree/master/multi-tenancy/tenant-identifier-shared-definitions I get lost at the point where it says “Implement the SPI TenantIdProvider”! How would I even do that with the Docker distibution? Is it possible at all with my limited knowldege of All things JAVA?

Can anyone help me decide if this this is even feasible with my limited skillset before I spend a week or so chasing a goal that’s out of my reach?

Many thanks!

@IanS what are you trying to do? Based on the title: you are trying to have Process Definitions that are available to multiple tenants?

Hi @StephenOTT,

I’d like to enable different tenants to start a process that is available to all of them. The only other way I can see to do this is to upload the same process multiple times with a tenantID. The link I gave seemed like an explanation of how to achieve this but confounded me within the first few sentences!!

Also when a tenant starts their process it must not be visible via the REST API to another tenant.

Create a process that has no tenant id so it is available to all tenants.

In that process have a call activity that calls your actual process and provide the tenant id of that user.

The parent process will act as a gateway to the actual process which will get locked to the tenant

Nice idea! I’ll give it a go, thanks!

Hi @StephenOTT ,

I’ve trawled around the class documentation and can’t easily see how to start a process with tenantId in a script for example: