Running the source code locally

Hi, I am supposed to download the source code of camunda bpm platform and run it locally on an ide.
I tried doing so but am encountering errors and I am unable to understand how to execute successfully. I am new with camunda. Can anyone explain step by step how I can run it?

Hello @Deadeye and welcome to the community,

You can start from here: camunda-bpm-platform/CONTRIBUTING.md at master · camunda/camunda-bpm-platform · GitHub

1 Like

Hi,
I tried this but on building it is showing error ‘Failed to execute goal org.apace.maven.plaugins:maven-surefire-plugin:2.22.2:test’

Please check which JDK version you use. As of today the source code is still compatible with JDK 8.

I advise you to avoid adding all submodules to your IDE but start only with a few to explore the project (many of the submodules might not be relevant to you).

If you like further assistance, could you please exact steps that you performed (cloning projects, importing which projects, JDK and maven version, maven settings file, stacktrace of the error, etc.)

I was interested in debugging to know which sp(table) is called for saving the workflow payload request or are there any jav extensions to write payload to different sql table. Then, modify the source code to fetch payload from new secondary table based on reference id as input of workflow.
Can you help with which sub-project should I access.

Also, I am using jdk-20(20.0.1) and maven 3.9.2

I added the code given in contributing.md under build from source in the nexus-settings.xml file in the settings/maven folder. Then, I ran mvn clean install on cmd in the camunda-bpm-platform-master directory. Running mvn with -e for stacktrace of error shows org.apache.maven.lifecycle.NoGoalSpecifedException.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Hi @Deadeye,