Service task is missing task definition

Hello,
I am new to Camunda and working with the videos from https://camunda.com/de/learn/videos/.
In the third video when I create a process with three service tasks in the modeler (camunda-modeler-5.0.0-win-x64), I cannot add an implementation to the service tasks because there is no implementation field in the properties panel.

Instead, there is a field asking for a task definition, and the modeller gives me an error message saying:
“A Service Task must have a Task definition type”

I had no problems with the service tasks from the second video, which are created with an Maven archetype. But whenever I create a service task directly in the modeler, the task definition type problem occurs.

Thank you for any help
Susanne

Hey @Susanne

an service task needs a task definition / type.

A camunda platform 8 service task is what you might know from camunda platform 7 as external tasks.

You can also take a look at the following getting started guide

Hope that helps.

Greets
Chris

Hello Chris,

Thank you very much!
The documentation is interesting but does not really answer my question which is:
Some service tasks I created in the modeler do not ask for a task definition type, I assume they got a task definition automatically.
Other service tasks are missing the task definition type! What should I enter in the task definition field of the properties panel? This is not covered in the video tutorials I mentioned.

Best regards
Susanne

1 Like

Hey @Susanne

this is interesting maybe you can share your process model so we can have a look together :slight_smile:

The task type is like an identifier which you use on the task and your corresponding job worker. The worker with the same type will pick up the corresponding jobs.

More information about job worker Job workers | Camunda Platform 8

Greets
Chris

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much!

Two examples: