Use boundary time events as beginner

Hi

I am new to the creation of BPMNs. With the following BPMN, I am unsure whether I have achieved what I wanted.

I need the following procedure:

• Check if the doc is present

• If not, then request the doc and wait until it arrives
    • if available, then continue[diagram_1.bpmn|attachment]
  • Check content for completeness

• Incomplete, then request missing data and wait until data is available
    • Complete, then continue

BPMN Diagram
diagram_1.bpmn (11.7 KB)

BPMN Preview Fix

Question
Can I use the boundary time event in this way? Otherwise I have the option of displaying the intermediate event inline.

Thanks in advance.

Tauwin

Hi @Tauwin
I think there is nothing wrong with your model.
Due to using boundary timer event, your solution is better than using intermediate message event.

1 Like

In the event that the assignee receives the document prior to the timer going off, your process ends. I do not think this is what you intend.

In a “Good Practices” note, all activities should be named “(Verb) (Noun)” (at least for English. Other languages may be different) this is due to the imperative nature of this construct. This is an instruction to the assignee. “Doc Available” does not match this structure. What is the action (activity) that the assignee is to complete?

The way that you are using the boundary timer is correct, but you might want to consider using either non-interrupting timers (send the request for the document again until you get it), or determining what the flow should be if the document never arrives.

You may need to refactor this a little bit to have it executable in Camunda Community Edition - if your “client” is too fast on returning the document, the process might not be ready to receive it yet. The usual design setup to solve that is to put the “Request” and the “Receive” in parallel. This will need some extra thought to design for having a timer on it as well.

@GotnOGuts